The Course Structure

Categories of Course:

The courses within the Faculty fall under the following heading:
  • Core Courses: are central to the to degree programme in view. Are normally offered by the Department offering the course and constitute not less than 60% (i.e 90 credit units) of all the course unit that the student must take to complete the requirements for a degree in a given Department.
  • Cognate Courses Cognate courses are prescribed course units from related fields which are indispensable for an understanding and appreciation of the student's major field.
  • Restricted Electives:These are optional courses i.e. a set of required courses from which a student is made to select one or more courses as the case may be, They are normally offered by OTHER Departments within the same Faculty and They constitute about 15% (i.e. 23 credit units) of all the course units required for the degree before graduating.
  • Unrestricted Electives:They are courses which are opted for by the student in accordance with his or her own interest, They are normally offered from OUTSIDE the Faculty, The status of the unrestricted elective courses taken by a student shall be determined by the Faculty and They constitute about 5% (i.e. 8 credit units) of all the credit units of the required course units for the degree in view.


First Semester
Orientation and Registration of New Students - 2 Weeks
Returning Students - 1 Week
Lectures - 15 Weeks
Examination - 2 Weeks
Semester Break

Second Semester
Registration - 1 Week
Lectures - 15 Weeks
Examination - 2 Weeks

Long Vacation

i. Students Work Experience Programme (SWEP): 200 Level students-8 Weeks during the long vacation of the second year.
ii. Students’ Industrial Work Experience Scheme (SIWES):400 Level students-24Weeks during the second semester and long vacation.

List of Courses Offered

[an error occurred while processing this directive]